EQUILIBRIUM Extras:

Mailing List

Equilibrium Reviews

“Thomson’s debut is riveting — the aftermath of Jack’s suicide has a unique effect on each character, though not in the negative ways readers might expect. Given the gloomy nature of the plot, Equilibrium is actually very uplifting, and homes in on each character’s yearning to be given a second chance at finding love and building new relationships. Romantic, yet heartbreaking all the way through, this novel is a beautiful take on starting over in life.
RT Book Reviews

“Fans of Kristin Hannah and Holly Chamberlin will similarly appreciate this hopeful, uplifting story about family, friendships and a second chance at love.”
Booklist

“In this impressive debut, Thomson skillfully maps the emotional landscape of mother-daughter relationships.It’s an emotional, complex, and deeply satisfying novel about the power of hope, love, and family. I couldn’t put it down!
Lisa Verge Higgins, author of FRIENDSHIP MAKES THE HEART GROW FONDER

“Tender, heartbreaking and beautifully realistic. A family—full of secrets– struggles to keep its balance on a tightrope of grief, guilt, desire, and the need for love. Fans of Anita Shreve will be riveted by this intense and compassionate story.”
Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha, Anthony and Macavity-winning author

Equilibrium is definitely a novel that will appeal to any woman who found love a struggle, but chose to love anyway. From the first page, I was sucked into Laura’s world. Revisiting her husband’s slow, destructive spiral was painful, but seeing those mental health issues resurface after his death . . . scary. Thomson captured Laura’s fear with such detail and depth that I felt fearful myself. Thomson writes with such authority and grace. She’s an author to watch.”
J.H. Trumble, author of DON’T LET ME GO, WHERE YOU ARE, and the upcoming JUST BETWEEN US

“Laura and Darcy’s points of view fuel the plot to its climax. It’s a perfect balance that’s done so seamlessly…If you love women’s fiction, family dramas, romance, or YA then read this book. It’s a lovely heartfelt read that I plan on revisiting soon.”
Heroes And Heartbreakers

“Thomson has written a touching novel about the trying to find balance even with the threat of mental illness hanging over your head. She’s captured the fear and the worry of parenting teenagers and how hard it is to let go, especially when you aren’t happy with the choices they’re making…a moving read.”
Book N Around

“This would make an excellent book club selection. There is plenty to discuss with subjects ranging from mental illness to abuse to tough teen issues like drugs, alcohol, and sex. There are also questions at the end of the book to help guide your discussion.”
Time 2 Read