Mailing List

The Next Big Thing

Two amazing women, cozy mystery writer Rosemary DiBattista, http://rosemarydibattista.com/blog/, and women’s fiction writer Orly Konig-Lopez, http://www.orlykoniglopez.com/thursday-therapy.html, have tagged me for a game called The Next Big Thing.  In order to play, I must first answer ten questions about my work in progress and then tag another writer to do the same. Here goes!

Ten Interview Questions for the Next Big Thing:

What is your working title of your book?

What’s Left Behind

Where did the idea come from for the book?

My story ideas usually begin with the question, What if? Then, in order to test the idea, I ask myself, But why? That naturally leads back to the question, What if? Repeat as needed.

What genre does your book fall under?

Women’s Fiction

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Claire Danes…Abby Stone

Jennifer Lawrence…Tessa Lombardi

Holly Hunter…Lily Beth

Amy Adams…Celeste Barnes

Bradley Cooper… Rob Campbell

Jake Gyllenhaal…Charlie Connors

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

What’s Left Behind is about a single mother still grieving her college-aged son’s tragic death when his girlfriend shows up pregnant on her doorstep, ready to offer her a second chance at motherhood.

 Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Literary agent Jessica Alvarez at BookEnds represents me. Kensington Books will publish the novel in 2014.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I’ll be continuing to work on the novel for the next ten months.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

What’s Left Behind will appeal to fans of Barbara O’Neal and Kristin Hannah.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

A couple of years ago, I spent a few days at Kripalu, a center for yoga and health in the Berkshires of Massachusetts. There I walked an amazing labyrinth, and that became the physical manifestation of Abby’s healing journey.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

At the best and worst time of her life, Abby Stone must choose between two men. One man wants to heal the heartbreak from their shared pasts. Another man may, or may not, lead her to a brighter future.

I don’t want to give too much away, but you’re going to love Abby’s mother. She’s a genuine earth mother, who evades the truth by spinning far-fetched fables born of romance and the sea.

The story takes place in the fictional town of Hidden Harbor, Maine, nestled beside the very real and quite picturesque town of Phippsburg.

Pass The Baton

And now, I have the honor of passing the baton to the talented Melissa Cutler. Melissa’s contemporary romance debut, The Trouble with Cowboys, is currently available from Kensington, along with Seduction Under Fire, a Harlequin Romantic Suspense. Look for Melissa’s post at www.melissacutler.net/blog/ some time during the week of December 3.